stay classy san diego meme


November 25, 2019

San Diego branding agency Basic has announced five new staff members. They include: Jon Sukarangsan, executive director; Carlo Luetto, creative director; Noelle Newbold, creative director; Alex Christian, design director; Hannah Purmort, design director. In addition, Basic also said it recently received 25 awards for its client Google Store at the 2019 W3 Awards, an awards program that recognizes digital excellence across websites, web marketing, video, mobile sits, apps and social media. The W3 program is presented by the Academy of Interactive & Visual Arts.

*  *  *

Two TV stations owned by NBCUniversal, KNSD-TV NBC 7 San Diego and KNBC-TV NBC4 in Los Angeles, have teamed-up with Ralphs and Food 4 Less supermarkets to raise money for regional food banks in San Diego, Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino and Ventura counties. Until Dec. 24, shoppers can donate $5 or $10 at check-out for the food drive called Help 4 the Hungry. Officials said last year’s inaugural campaign raised more than $400,000 for regional food banks, providing more than 1.5 million meals to those in need. “Our community has always stepped up to help others during times of need, and there is no better time than during the holidays,” said Todd Mokhtari, NBC 7 president and GM. “We are honored to be a part of this effort.”

*  *  *

Several news media outlets received multiple awards at the recent San Diego Press Club’s 46th annual Excellence in Journalism Awards held at the Jacobs Center for Neighborhood Innovation’s Joe and Vi Jacobs Community Center. More than 500 awards in more than 180 categories were presented. Multiple award winners included (total number of awards received appears in parenthesis): San Diego Union-Tribune, 25; Times of San Diego, 24; San Diego Zoo Global and ZOONOOZ Magazine, 21; Ranch and Coast Magazine, 17; San Diego Business Journal, 17; iNewsSource, 16; Ramona Home Journal, 15; NBC 7/39: 15; Ramona Sentinel, 12; Edible San Diego, 10. In the college news media division, winners included the Southwestern College Sun, 19 awards and San Diego City College Times, 17 awards. Several individuals received multiple awards. They included (total number of awards received appears in parenthesis):  Ken Stone, 20; Carol Kinney, 17; Lorie Hearn, 16; Mia Stefanko, 14; Steve Adamek, 14; Julie Gallant, 12; Lisa Gipson, 11; Cliff Albert, 10; Lorine Wright, 10. Also at the event, the Press Club presented three special awards. They included: Roger Showley, retired San Diego Union-Tribune reporter, Harold Keen Award for outstanding contributions in journalism; Bob Stefanko and Mia Park, Ranch & Coast Magazine, Jim Reiman Award for excellence in media  management; Teresa Warren, TW2, Andy Mace Award for career achievements in public relations. The full list of winners is available online at